2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 51 - Standards, Weights, Measures And Containers
Section 51:1-82 - Fraudulent Report Of Weight; Penalties; Imprisonment; Double Damages; Interstate Carriers, Inapplicable To
51:1-82. Fraudulent report of weight; penalties; imprisonment; double damages; interstate carriers, inapplicable to
Any person who owns, operates, keeps, or has in his possession, control or charge any scales, steelyards or weights who shall certify, declare, represent, render or report any false weight whereby any other person may be defrauded, deceived or injured, shall, upon conviction thereof, be subject to a penalty in a sum not less than $50.00 nor more than $100.00 for a first offense, and not less than $100.00 nor more than $250.00 for a second offense and not less than $250.00 nor more than $500.00 for each subsequent offense. The court shall cause any defendant, who refuses or neglects to forthwith pay the amount of the judgment rendered against him and all the costs and charges incident thereto, to be committed to the county jail for a period of not less than 10 days and not exceeding 30 days for a first offense and not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days for any subsequent offense. Such person shall also be answerable to the party defrauded in double damages, to be collected in an action at law in any court of competent jurisdiction. The provisions of this section shall not apply to interstate common carriers by railroad subject to the rules and regulations from time to time issued by the Interstate Commerce Commission.
Amended by L.1943, c. 135, p. 385, s. 1; L.1969, c. 251, s. 16, eff. Jan. 7, 1970.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.