2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 51 - Standards, Weights, Measures And Containers
Section 51:1-80 - Penalties; Requesting False Weighing; False Certificate Or Other Violation By Weighmaster
51:1-80. Penalties; requesting false weighing; false certificate or other violation by weighmaster
Any person, who shall request a weighmaster to weigh any product, commodity, or article falsely or incorrectly, or who shall request a false or incorrect certificate of weight and measure, or any person who shall issue a certificate of weight and measure who is not a weighmaster as defined in section 51:1-73 of this Title shall, upon conviction thereof, pay a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000.00.
Any weighmaster who shall issue a false certificate of weight or measurement, or who shall delegate his authority to any person not certified as a weighmaster, or who shall preseal a certificate of weight or measure with his official seal before performing the work of weighing or measuring or who shall conduct his office as weighmaster in any manner at variance with this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, pay a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000.00 and, in addition, shall forfeit his weighmaster's certificate. The certificate shall then be turned over to the State superintendent.
Amended by L.1969, c. 251, s. 15, eff. Jan. 7, 1970.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.