2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 51 - Standards, Weights, Measures And Containers
Section 51:1-131 - Penalties For Violations Of Act
51:1-131. Penalties for violations of Act
Any person violating any of the provisions of this act, shall, upon being found guilty of a first offense, pay a fine of not less than $50.00, nor more than $100.00, and shall, upon being found guilty of a second offense pay a fine of not less than $100.00 nor more than $250.00, and shall, upon being found guilty of any subsequent offense pay a fine of not less than $250.00 nor more than $500.00; provided, however, that any person unable to pay a fine imposed under the provisions of this act shall be committed to jail for a period of not less than 10 days nor more than 90 days.
Amended by L.1938, c. 182, p. 398, s. 19; L.1969, c. 251, s. 26, eff. Jan. 7, 1970.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.