2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 46 - Property
Section 46:3B-5 - Certificate Of Registration; Application; Fee; Issuance; Duration; Conditions
46:3B-5. Certificate of registration; application; fee; issuance; duration; conditions
No builder shall engage in the business of constructing new homes unless he is registered with the department. The department shall provide application forms for such registration and shall prescribe the information to be included therein. Each application shall be accompanied by a reasonable fee, prescribed by the commissioner, and proof, satisfactory to the commissioner, of participation in the new home warranty security fund or an approved alternate new home warranty security program. Upon receipt of the above, the department shall issue a certificate of registration.
Each certificate of registration shall be valid for a period of 2 years from the date of issue and may be renewed for additional 2-year periods.
As a condition for the registration, a builder shall be required to participate in the new home warranty security fund or an approved alternate new home warranty security program.
No corporation, partnership or other business organization shall be entitled to registration hereunder, nor shall they engage in the construction of new homes unless a stockholder, director, officer, partner, or employee thereof, as the case may be, shall be a registered builder.
L.1977, c. 467, s. 5.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.