2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 46 - Property
Section 46:38A-45 - Designation Successor Custodian When Custodian Is Ineligible, Dies Or Becomes Incapacitated
46:38A-45. Designation successor custodian when custodian is ineligible, dies or becomes incapacitated
If a custodian is ineligible, dies or becomes incapacitated without having effectively designated a successor custodian and the minor has attained the age of 14 years, the minor may, in the manner prescribed in R.S. 46:38A-44, designate an adult member of the minor's family, the guardian of the minor's estate or a trust company as successor custodian. If the minor has not attained the age of 14 years or if the minor has attained the age of 14 years and fails to act within 60 days after the ineligibility, death, or incapacity, the guardian of the minor's estate shall become the successor custodian. If there is no guardian of the minor's estate or the guardian declines to act, the transferor, the legal representative of the transferor or of the custodian, an adult member of the minor's family, or any other interested person may apply to the court to designate a successor custodian.
L. 1987, c. 18, s. 1.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.