2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 46 - Property
Section 46:30B-78 - Time To Consider Claim; Notice Of Denial.
46:30B-78 Time to consider claim; notice of denial.
46:30B-78. Time to consider claim; notice of denial. The administrator shall consider each claim within 120 days after it is filed or, in the case of a claim of a person asserting an entitlement as an heir to the property of an intestate decedent, within 120 days of the claimant's submission of the matters (1) through (4) required in subsection b. of R.S.46:30B-77, and give written notice to the claimant if the claim is denied in whole or in part. The notice may be given by mailing it to the last address, if any, stated in the claim as the address to which notices are to be sent. If an address for notices is not stated in the claim, the notice may be mailed to the last address, if any, of the claimant as stated in the claim. A notice of denial need not be given if the claim fails to state either the last address to which notices are to be sent or the address of the claimant.
L.1989, c.58, s.1; amended 1995, c.152, s.5; 2002, c.35, s.52.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.