2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 46 - Property
Section 46:18-11.2 - Cancellation Of Mortgage After Satisfaction

NJ Rev Stat § 46:18-11.2 (2016) What's This?

46:18-11.2. Cancellation of mortgage after satisfaction
1. a. When any mortgage registered or recorded pursuant to R.S.46:17-1 et seq. shall be redeemed, paid and satisfied, a mortgagee, other than a bank, savings bank, savings and loan association, credit union or other corporation engaged in the business of making or purchasing mortgage loans, or his agents or assigns shall within 10 days notify the mortgagor that he has the right to demand the mortgagee to cancel the mortgage of record upon payment by the mortgagor of the fee required by the county to effect the cancellation and the mortgagee shall within 30 days of the receipt by the mortgagee of the required fee from the mortgagor:

(1) apply to the county recording officer to have the mortgage canceled of record; and

(2) send to the mortgagor or mortgagor's agent at the same time the mortgage is sent to the county recording officer for cancellation of record a copy of the letter of transmittal which the mortgagee sent to the county recording officer requesting the cancellation of the mortgage of record.

b. (1) When any mortgage registered or recorded pursuant to R.S.46:17-1 et seq. shall be redeemed, paid and satisfied and the mortgagee is a bank, savings bank, savings and loan association, credit union or other corporation in the business of making or purchasing mortgage loans, that mortgagee, its agents or assigns shall:

(a) cause the mortgage to be submitted to the county recording officer for cancellation of record within 30 days of receipt of all fees which are required to be paid by the mortgagor pursuant to this subsection; and

(b) send to the mortgagor or mortgagor's agent at the same time the mortgage is sent to the county recording officer for cancellation of record a copy of the letter of transmittal which the mortgagee sent to the county recording officer requesting the cancellation of the mortgage of record.

(2) The mortgagee shall have the right to receive from the mortgagor the amount of the fee charged by the county recording officer to cancel the mortgage plus an additional service fee from the mortgagor, which service fee shall not exceed $25 or such higher amount which the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance may approve by regulation, provided the mortgagor has received notice of the fees required by the mortgagee. The mortgagee may collect the service fee at the time of the mortgage transaction or at the time the mortgage is redeemed, paid and satisfied. The fee charged by the county recording officer to cancel the mortgage of record shall be collectible at the time the mortgage is redeemed, paid and satisfied.

c.If the final payment is made in cash, by certified check or cashier's check, the mortgage shall be deemed paid, satisfied and redeemed upon receipt of the cash, certified check or cashier's check by the mortgagee, his agents or assigns.

L.1975,c.137,s.1; amended 1991, c.289, s.2; 1999, c.272, s.1.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.