2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 4 - Agriculture And Domestic Animals
Section 4:19-28 - Obligations Of Owner Of Potentially Dangerous Dog
4:19-28. Obligations of owner of potentially dangerous dog
12. The owner of a potentially dangerous dog shall:
a. comply with the provisions of P.L.1989, c.307 (C.4:19-17 et seq.) in accordance with a schedule established by the municipal court, but in no case more than 60 days subsequent to the date of determination;
b. notify the licensing authority, local police department or force, and the animal control officer if a potentially dangerous dog is at large, or has attacked a human being or killed a domestic animal;
c. notify the licensing authority, local police department or force, and the animal control officer within 24 hours of the death, sale or donation of a potentially dangerous dog;
d. prior to selling or donating the dog, inform the prospective owner that the dog has been declared potentially dangerous;
e. upon the sale or donation of the dog to a person residing in a different municipality, notify the department and the licensing authority, police department or force, and animal control officer of that municipality of the transfer of ownership and the name, address and telephone of the new owner; and
f. in addition to any license fee required pursuant to section 3 of P.L.1941, c.151 (C.4:19-15.3), pay a potentially dangerous dog license fee to the municipality as provided by section 15 of P.L.1989, c.307 (C.4:19-31).
L.1989,c.307,s.12; amended 1994,c.187,s.9.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.