2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 4 - Agriculture And Domestic Animals
Section 4:11-34 - Penalty For Violations; Jail For Nonpayment
4:11-34. Penalty for violations; jail for nonpayment
A person, who shall engage in the business of commission merchant, dealer or broker, as defined in section 4:11-15 of this Title, without first having obtained a license as provided in this article shall be subject to a penalty of not more than $3,000.00 a day for each day of operation.
Any grower or producer of perishable agricultural commodities, poultry products or poultry who knowingly sells to, or utilizes the services of, any unlicensed commission merchant, dealer or broker shall be subject to a penalty of not more than $3,000.00, or who shall violate any other provision of this article shall be subject to a penalty of $100.00 for the first offense and $500.00 for the second and each subsequent offense, to be sued for and recovered with costs in the name of the department in the manner provided in article 1 of chapter 23 of Title (s. 4:23-1 et seq.) and in such proceeding the defendant may be arrested upon the commencement of the action.
If judgment is rendered for the plaintiff the court shall cause a defendant who shall fail to pay forthwith the amount of the judgment rendered against him, and all costs and charges incident thereto, to be committed to the county jail for a period of not less than 5 nor more than 90 days for a first offense and not less than 10 nor more than 200 days for the second and each subsequent offense.
Amended by L.1953, c. 5, p. 35, s. 26; L.1977, c. 427, s. 6, eff. Nov. 1, 1978.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.