2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 4 - Agriculture And Domestic Animals
Section 4:11-14 - Violations, Penalties.
4:11-14 Violations, penalties.
4:11-14. A person who shall:
a.Engage in or carry on the business of buying or receiving cattle, sheep, horses or swine, or receiving, selling, exchanging, soliciting or negotiating the sale, resale, exchange or shipment of cattle, sheep, horses or swine, as dealer, broker or agent, within the meaning of this article, without first having obtained a license as provided in this article; or
b.Violate any of the provisions of this article--
Shall be liable to a penalty of $200.00 for the first offense and $500.00 for the second and each subsequent offense, which penalty shall be sued for and recovered by and in the name of the department in the manner provided in article 1 of chapter 23 of this Title (R.S.4:23-1 et seq.) and in such proceeding the defendant may be arrested upon the commencement of the action.
If judgment is rendered for the plaintiff the court shall cause a defendant who shall fail to pay forthwith the amount of the judgment rendered against him, and all costs and charges incident thereto, to be committed to the county jail for a period of not less than five nor more than 90 days in the case of a first offense and not less than 10 nor more than 200 days for a second and each subsequent offense.
Amended 1949, c.209, s.7; 1953, c.5, s.24; 1966, c.27, s.8; 1998, c.105, s.11.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.