2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:8-9 - Enforcement; Violations, Penalties
39:8-9. Enforcement; violations, penalties
39:8-9. a. The enforcement of this chapter shall be vested in the director and the police or peace officers of any municipality, any county or the State.
b. An owner or lessee who:
(1) Fails or refuses to have a motor vehicle examined within the time period prescribed by the director; or
(2) After having had it examined, fails or refuses to place or display a certificate of approval, rejection sticker or waiver certificate upon the windshield or other location on the vehicle as may be prescribed by the director; or
(3) Fails or refuses to place the motor vehicle in proper condition after having had the same examined; or
(4) In any manner, fails to conform to the provisions of this chapter or the regulations adopted by the director pursuant thereto, shall be guilty of violating the provisions of this chapter, and shall be subject to a fine of not less than $100 or more than $200 or to imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or to both such fine and imprisonment.
c. A person who fraudulently obtains a certificate of approval, rejection sticker or waiver certificate, or displays or has in his possession a fictitious, altered, or stolen certificate of approval, rejection sticker or waiver certificate shall be subject to a fine of $500 for each such certificate or sticker.
d. The provisions of this chapter shall be enforced and all penalties for the violation thereof shall be recovered in accordance with the provisions of "the penalty enforcement law" (N.J.S.2A:58-1 et seq.), and in addition to the provisions and remedies therein contained, the following provisions and remedies shall be applicable in any proceeding brought for a violation of any of the provisions of this chapter:
(1) The several municipal courts shall have jurisdiction of such proceeding, in addition to the courts prescribed in "the penalty enforcement law";
(2) The complaint in any such proceeding may be made on information and belief by the director, or any police or peace officer of any municipality, any county or the State;
(3) A warrant may issue in lieu of summons;
(4) Any police or peace officer shall be empowered to serve and execute process in any such proceeding;
(5) The hearing in any such proceeding shall be without a jury;
(6) Any such proceeding may be brought in the name of the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles in the Department of Law and Public Safety or in the name of the State of New Jersey;
(7) Any sums received in payment of any fines imposed in any such proceeding shall be paid to the Director of the Division of Motor Vehicles and shall be paid by him to the State Treasurer, who shall deposit one-half of such sums in the "Motor Vehicle Inspection Fund" established pursuant to subsection j. of R.S.39:8-2, and who shall pay the remaining one-half of such sums to the county or municipality initiating the complaint or summons or, if initiated by State law enforcement personnel, to the State Treasury;
(8) The director or judge before whom any hearing under this chapter is had may revoke the registration certificate of any motor vehicle owned or leased by any person, when such person shall have been found to be in violation of any of the provisions of this chapter as shall in the discretion of the director or judge justify such revocation.
e. The director may order the suspension of the registration or reciprocity privilege of any motor vehicle found to be in violation of any of the provisions of this chapter. If the owner or lessee fails to surrender the license plates for that vehicle to the division within 45 days of the mailing of an order requiring their surrender, the director may order the confiscation of the license plates of the vehicle that is in violation. An order of license plate confiscation issued by the director shall include an order imposing a civil penalty of $200 on the owner or lessee of the vehicle. This civil penalty shall be paid to the State Treasurer, who shall deposit one-half of the amount in the "Motor Vehicle Inspection Fund" established pursuant to subsection j. of R.S.39:8-2 and pay the remaining one-half to any municipality or county whose law enforcement, police or peace officers confiscated the plates in accordance with the order of the director, or if the plates were confiscated by State law enforcement personnel, to the State Treasury. A civil penalty imposed pursuant to this subsection shall be in addition to any other penalty provided by this chapter.
Amended 1954,c.75; 1983,c.403,s.28; 1995,c.112,s.25.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.