2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:8-18 - Violations, Penalties
39:8-18. Violations, penalties
A person who affixes a private inspection approval sticker to a motor vehicle without having reinspected the specific item for which the vehicle was initially rejected, or without having determined that the condition of the item conforms to standards established by law or regulation, shall be guilty of violating the provisions of this chapter, and shall be fined not less than $1,000.00 or more than $1,500.00 and shall have the license suspended for a period of at least one year but not more than three years for a first offense or not less than $2,000.00 or more than $3,500.00 and shall have the license permanently revoked for a subsequent offense. This section shall be enforced pursuant to R.S. 39:8-9.
A person who charges a fee for repair work not performed or performed unnecessarily and affixes a private inspection approval sticker shall be punished under the terms of P.L. 1960, c. 39 (C. 56:8-1 et seq.), and any regulation adopted thereunder.
L. 1975, c. 156, s. 10, eff. July 16, 1975. Amended by L. 1986, c. 22, s. 11, eff. June 2, 1986.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.