2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:6A-3 - Compulsory Automobile Insurance Coverage; Limits.
39:6A-3 Compulsory automobile insurance coverage; limits.
3.Compulsory automobile insurance coverage; limits. Except as provided by section 4 of P.L.1998, c.21 (C.39:6A-3.1), every owner or registered owner of an automobile registered or principally garaged in this State shall maintain automobile liability insurance coverage, under provisions approved by the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance, insuring against loss resulting from liability imposed by law for bodily injury, death and property damage sustained by any person arising out of the ownership, maintenance, operation or use of an automobile wherein such coverage shall be at least in:
a.an amount or limit of $15,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, on account of injury to, or death of, one person, in any one accident; and
b.an amount or limit, subject to such limit for any one person so injured or killed, of $30,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, on account of injury to or death of, more than one person, in any one accident; and
c.an amount or limit of $5,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, for damage to property in any one accident.
No licensed insurance carrier shall refuse to renew the required coverage stipulated by this act of an eligible person as defined in section 25 of P.L.1990, c.8 (C.17:33B-13) except in accordance with the provisions of section 26 of P.L.1988, c.119 (C.17:29C-7.1) or with the consent of the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance.
L.1972,c.70,s.3; amended 1972, c.203, s.2; 1988, c.119, s.9; 1990, c.8, s.3; 1998, c.21, s.3
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.