2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:6-69 - Unpaid Judgments.
39:6-69 Unpaid judgments.
9.When any qualified person recovers a valid judgment in any court of competent jurisdiction in this State against any other person, who was the operator or owner of a motor vehicle, for injury to, death of, any person or persons, or a similar valid judgment in such court against such a defendant for an amount in excess of $500.00, exclusive of interest and costs, for damage to property, except property of others in charge of such operator or owner or such operator's or owner's employees, arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of the motor vehicle in this State on or after April 1, 1955, and any amount remains unpaid thereon in the case of a judgment for bodily injury or death, or any amount in excess of $500.00 remains unpaid thereon in case of a judgment for damage to property, such judgment creditor may, upon the termination of all proceedings, including reviews and appeals in connection with such judgment, file a verified claim in the court in which the judgment was entered, and upon 10 days' written notice to the association may apply to the court for an order directing payment out of the fund, of the amount unpaid upon such judgment for bodily injury or death, which does not exceed, or upon such judgment for damage to property, which exceeds the sum of $500.00 and does not exceed--
(a)The maximum amount or limit of $15,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, on account of injury to, or death of, one person, in any one accident, and
(b)The maximum amount or limit, subject to such limit for any one person so injured or killed, of $30,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, on account of injury to, or death of, more than one person, in any one accident, and
(c)The maximum amount or limit of $5,000.00, exclusive of interest and costs, for damage to property in any one accident.
L.1952,c.174,s.9; amended 1958, c.99, s.3; 1972, c.198, s.3; 1983, c.362, s.21; 1988, c.119, s.15; 2003, c.89.s.14.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.