2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:5-30B - Suspension Of License; Period Of Time; Notice; Hearing

NJ Rev Stat § 39:5-30B (2016) What's This?

39:5-30b. Suspension of license; period of time; notice; hearing
The director may suspend for a period of no more than 3 years, the license to operate a motor vehicle of any person who, within a period of 3 years, commits motor vehicle violations, other than a violation of section 2 of P.L.1972, c. 197 (C. 39:6B-2), which ultimately result in the licensee having his license suspended three times. Where any given suspension is based on an accumulation of points involving more than one conviction for violations, the period of suspension shall be calculated from the date of commission of the latest violation.

The proposed notice of suspension shall be mailed to the licensee at his last address of record with the Division of Motor Vehicles and shall clearly state the reason for the suspension. The suspension shall become effective 15 days from the date of the mailing of the notice unless the director for cause establishes another date for commencement of the suspension, or the licensee notifies the director in writing within 10 days of the mailing of the notice of his intention to personally appear at a hearing to challenge the suspension.

The administrative law judge presiding at a hearing held pursuant to this section shall only consider evidence of the actual number of suspensions and the time period during which the violations leading to the suspensions were committed in issuing a suspension for the period provided for by this act. He may admit evidence relevant to the circumstances set out in section 3 of this act in considering the appropriateness of any portion of in excess of the 3 year period suspension issued.

Any person who fails without reasonable cause to appear at a hearing provided for by this section shall have his license to operate a motor vehicle suspended forthwith by the director for a fixed minimum period of 3 years.

L.1982, c. 85, s. 2, eff. Oct. 1, 1982.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.