2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:5-30.8 - Suspension Of License; Accumulated Points; Notice; Effective Date; Hearing; Failure To Appear
39:5-30.8. Suspension of license; accumulated points; notice; effective date; hearing; failure to appear
Except for good cause, the director shall suspend for a period of no less than 30 days and no more than 180 days, except as provided in section 6 of this act, the license to operate a motor vehicle of any person who accumulates
a. 12 or more points in a period of 2 years or less, or
b. 15 or more points in a period greater than 2 years, or
c. at least 12 points but fewer than 15 points in a period greater than 2 years, unless the licensee notifies the division in writing within 10 days of the date of mailing of the proposed notice of suspension of his intention to attend a driver improvement course that is approved by the director, and satisfactorily completes such course.
The proposed notice of suspension shall be mailed to the licensee at his last address of record with the Division of Motor Vehicles and shall clearly state the length of the suspension, the reason for the suspension and that the licensee has a right to be heard on the suspension.
The suspension shall become effective 15 days from the date of the mailing of the notice unless the director for cause establishes another date for commencement of the suspension, or the licensee notifies the director in writing within 10 days of the mailing of the notice of his intention to personally appear at a hearing to challenge the suspension.
The administrative law judge presiding at a hearing held pursuant to this section shall only consider evidence of the actual number of points assessed and the period of time during which such points were accumulated, taking into consideration any point reduction credits earned by the licensee, in issuing a suspension. He may consider other relevant evidence in considering the appropriateness of any portion of a suspension issued in excess of 30 days.
Any person who fails without reasonable cause to appear at a hearing provided for by this section, or who fails to satisfactorily complete the approved driver improvement course, as the case may be, shall have his license to operate a motor vehicle suspended forthwith by the director for the period contained in the proposed notice of suspension.
L.1982, c. 43, s. 4.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.