2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:5-30.10 - Subsequent Violations; Suspension; Notice; Hearing; Failure To Appear
39:5-30.10. Subsequent violations; suspension; notice; hearing; failure to appear
Except for good cause, the director shall suspend for a period as provided herein the license to operate a motor vehicle of any person who, having had his license suspended pursuant to subsection a., b., or c. of section 4 of this act, or having satisfactorily completed an approved driver improvement course pursuant to subsection c. of section 4 of this act, is convicted of a violation committed within 1 year of the date of restoration of the driving privilege or the date of completion of the approved driver improvement course, as the case may be. For commission of one violation within 1 year, the period of suspension shall be no less than 45 days and no more than 90 days. For a second violation the period of suspension shall be no less than 90 days and no more than 180 days.
The proposed notice of suspension shall be mailed to the licensee at his last address of record with the Division of Motor Vehicles. The notice shall clearly state the length of the suspension, the reason for the suspension and that the licensee has a right to be heard on the suspension, which shall become effective 15 days from the date of the mailing of the notice, unless the director for cause establishes another date for commencement of the suspension, or unless the licensee notifies the director in writing within 10 days of the notice of his intention to personally appear at a hearing to challenge the suspension.
The administrative law judge presiding at a hearing held pursuant to this section shall only consider evidence of the actual number of points assessed and the period of time during which such points were accumulated, taking into consideration any point reduction credits earned by the licensee. He may consider other relevant evidence in considering the appropriate length of a suspension for each case.
Any person who fails without reasonable cause to appear at a hearing provided for by this section shall have his license to operate a motor vehicle suspended forthwith for the term contained in the proposed notice of suspension.
L.1982, c. 43, s. 6.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.