2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:4-56.2 - Violations; Penalties
39:4-56.2. Violations; penalties
Any person who has been convicted of a violation of this act shall be subject, for a first offense, to a fine of not less than $200.00 nor more than $500.00 and shall have his license to operate a motor vehicle suspended for a period of not less than 1 year nor more than 5 years. For a subsequent violation, he shall be fined not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000.00 and shall have his license to operate a motor vehicle suspended for 5 years from the date of his conviction. In fixing the penalty to be imposed, the magistrate shall give consideration to the hazard to the public safety and the public inconvenience created by the conduct of such person.
L.1964, c. 18, s. 2.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.