2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:4-10.9 - Posting Of Sign Required; Violations; Penalties.
39:4-10.9 Posting of sign required; violations; penalties.
5. a. A person, firm, corporation or other legal entity regularly engaged in the business of selling or renting roller skates or skateboards shall post a sign at the point where the sale or rental transaction is completed stating: "STATE LAW REQUIRES A PERSON UNDER 17 YEARS OF AGE TO WEAR A HELMET WHEN ROLLER SKATING OR SKATEBOARDING." The size of the sign shall be at a minimum 15 inches in length and 8 inches in width. This notification requirement shall not apply to a seller when roller skates are sold through the use of a mail order catalog or brochure where the purchase and payment are made by mail, telephone or another telecommunications or electronic method.
b.A person, firm, corporation or other legal entity who fails to post the sign required by subsection a. of this section shall be subject to a penalty not to exceed $25 a day for each day the business is open to the public and the sign is not posted. The enforcement of this subsection shall be vested in the director, the inspectors appointed under his authority and the police or peace officers of, or inspectors duly appointed for this purpose by, any municipality or county or the State. Jurisdiction of proceedings to collect the penalties prescribed by this act is vested in the Superior Court and the municipal court in any municipality where the defendant resides. Process shall be either a summons or warrant and shall be executed in a summary manner pursuant to the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999," P.L.1999, c.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.).
c.A person, firm, corporation or other legal entity regularly engaged in the business of renting roller skates or skateboards shall make available an approved helmet to a person under 17 years of age who rents the roller skates or skateboards for use in an area where a helmet is required, if the person does not already have a helmet in his possession. A fee may be charged for the helmet rental.
d.A person, firm, corporation or other legal entity regularly engaged in the business of selling or renting roller skates or skateboards who complies with the applicable requirements of this section shall not be liable in a civil action for damages for any physical injury sustained by a user of roller skates or a skateboard who is under the age of 17 years as a result of that person's failure to wear a helmet in accordance with the provisions of this act.
e.Sixty days before the effective date of this act, the Division of Consumer Affairs in the Department of Law and Public Safety shall make a reasonable effort to notify any person, firm, corporation or other legal entity who is regularly engaged in the business of selling or renting roller skates or skateboards of the requirements of this section. The responsibility of a person, firm, corporation or other legal entity under this section shall not be abrogated or diminished in any manner if the person fails to receive or become aware of a notice from the division.
L.1997,c.411,s.5; amended 2005, c.208, s.4.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.