2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:3-40.2 - Issuance Of Temporary Registration Certificate, Plates
39:3-40.2. Issuance of temporary registration certificate, plates
3. a. The director may issue a temporary registration certificate and temporary registration plates for a motor vehicle for which the registration certificate and registration plates have been revoked under the provisions of section 2 of P.L.1995, c.286 (C.39:3-40.1) if:
(1)the name of the applicant for the temporary registration appeared upon the revoked registration certificate as a joint owner or joint lessee of the motor vehicle; or
(2)the applicant for the temporary registration is the spouse, child, dependent, parent or legal guardian of the violator or owner and certifies, in a manner prescribed by the director, that the operation of the motor vehicle is necessary for specified employment, educational, health or medical purposes.
The application shall be in a manner and form prescribed by the director. The application also shall include a signed certification that the applicant shall not knowingly permit the violator to operate the motor vehicle until the violator's license and driving privileges have been restored by the director and that any violation of this provision shall result in the revocation of the temporary registration issued for the motor vehicle under the provisions of this section, that the motor vehicle shall be ineligible for the temporary registration authorized under this act, and that the motor vehicle may be impounded in accordance with the provisions of section 4 of P.L.1995, c.286 (C.39:3-40.3) and the temporary registration certificate and temporary registration plates seized.
b.The director shall issue a temporary registration certificate and temporary registration plates for a motor vehicle registered under the provisions of this section. As prescribed by the director, the temporary registration plates shall bear a special series of numbers or letters so as to be readily identifiable by law enforcement officers.
c.The director may issue a new registration to a lessor of a vehicle for which the registration has been revoked pursuant to section 2 of P.L.1995, c.286 (C.39:3-40.1) provided that the vehicle is not leased to the same lessee.
d.The temporary registration authorized under this section shall expire and become void on the last day of the sixth month following the calendar month in which it was issued. All such temporary registrations may be renewed, upon application, by the director.
The fee schedule for the temporary registration authorized under this section shall be prescribed by the director. The schedule may provide for differing fees based upon the manufacturer's shipping weight and the model year of the motor vehicle; provided, however, that no such temporary registration fee shall exceed $75. The registrant also shall pay a non-recurring $25 fee for the temporary registration plates issued by the director.
L.1995,c.286,s.3; amended 2000, c.83, s.3.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.