2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:3-36 - Notification Of Change Of Residence; Fees, Penalties; Public Awareness Campaign.

NJ Rev Stat § 39:3-36 (2016) What's This?

39:3-36 Notification of change of residence; fees, penalties; public awareness campaign.

39:3-36. a. A licensed operator shall notify the chief administrator of any change in residence within one week after the change is made. Notice shall be in such form and shall contain such information as the chief administrator may require. Upon notification, and payment of a fee of $5 for the license in addition to the digitized picture fee, the chief administrator shall provide the licensed operator with a new license.

The registered owner of a motor vehicle or a motorized bicycle shall notify the chief administrator of any change in residence within one week after the change is made. Notice shall be in such form and shall contain such information as the chief administrator may require. Upon notification, and payment of a fee of $5, the chief administrator shall provide the registered owner with a new registration certificate.

A person who violates this section shall be subject to a penalty of not more than $25.

b.The chief administrator shall establish a public awareness campaign to inform the general public about the importance of maintaining a current address with the commission.

Amended 1983, c.105, s.3; 1990, c.103, s.31; 1999, c.28, s.11; 2001, c.391, s.10; 2007, c.281, s.2.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.