2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:3-33A - Additional Charge For Personalized, Courtesy, Special License Plates.
39:3-33a Additional charge for personalized, courtesy, special license plates.
1.Whenever the Division of Motor Vehicles is authorized to charge an additional application fee for the issuance of a personalized, courtesy or special license plate, the division shall charge that additional application fee only upon the initial issuance of the plate. If a personalized, courtesy or special plate is issued to a lessee in a motor vehicle leasing agreement, upon termination of the lease the lessee may apply to the director to have the plate reissued to another motor vehicle leased or owned by the lessee upon payment of a fee of $4.50. If a personalized, courtesy or special license plate is issued to an owner of a motor vehicle, the owner may apply to the director to have the plate reissued to another motor vehicle leased or owned by the owner upon payment of a fee of $4.50. Nothing in this section shall be construed as prohibiting the division from charging, at the time of annual registration renewal, the payment of the additional fee which has been required under any other section of law for a special license plate.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.