2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:3-31.1 - Duplicate Family Registration; Fee.
39:3-31.1 Duplicate family registration; fee.
1.The Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, upon presentation of a statement by the holder of an original registration certificate that he requires a duplicate registration certificate for use by members of his family, shall issue a duplicate original registration certificate to the holder of the original registration certificate upon the payment to the chief administrator of a fee of $5. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, the fee for a duplicate registration certificate for any new passenger automobile required to be registered for a 48-month term or for any new passenger automobile leased for a term of more than 12 months pursuant to R.S.39:3-4, shall be $11.
Any such duplicate original registration certificate may be used in the same manner and for the same purpose as the original registration certificate but may be used only by the holder of the original registration certificate or a member of his family. Any reference to the original registration certificate in the chapter to which this act is supplementary or in Title 39 of the Revised Statutes as amended and supplemented shall be deemed to include any and all duplicate original registration certificates issued pursuant to this act and, in the event that the holder of the original registration certificate shall be required to surrender the same by virtue of the provisions of any law, he shall also be required to surrender the duplicate original registration certificate if he shall have had such duplicate original registration certificate issued to him. The chief administrator shall make and promulgate such rules and regulations as may be necessary to effectuate the purposes of this act.
This section shall also apply to registration certificates for motorized bicycles.
L.1961,c.77,s.1; amended 1968, c.130, s.10; 1983, c.105, s.6; 1994, c.60, s.19; 2004, c.64, s.4.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.