2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:3-27.51 - Reimbursement To Division Prior To Deposit Of License Plate Fees
39:3-27.51. Reimbursement to division prior to deposit of license plate fees
5. a. Prior to the deposit of license plate fees collected pursuant to section 3 of this act into the fund, amounts thereof as are necessary shall be used to reimburse the division for all costs reasonably and actually incurred, as stipulated by the director, for:
(1) producing, issuing, renewing, and publicizing the availability of coastal protection license plates; and
(2) any initial fees, in an amount not to exceed $150,000, collected from the issuance of coastal protection license plates to be allocated to the division to pay the cost of any computer programming changes that may be necessary to implement the coastal protection license plate program established by this act.
b. The director shall annually certify to the commissioner the average cost per license plate incurred in the immediately preceding year by the division in producing, issuing, renewing, and publicizing the availability of coastal protection license plates. The annual certification of the average cost per license plate shall be approved by the Joint Budget Oversight Committee, or its successor.
c. In the event that the average cost per license plate as certified by the director and approved by the Joint Budget Oversight Committee, or its successor, is greater than the $50 application fee established in subsection a. of section 3 of this act in two consecutive fiscal years, the director may discontinue the issuance of coastal protection license plates.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.