2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:3-20.3 - Weight Limit For Vehicles Registered Out-of-state; Violations, Penalties, Fines.
39:3-20.3 Weight limit for vehicles registered out-of-State; violations, penalties, fines.
4.It shall be unlawful for any vehicle or combination of vehicles registered as a commercial motor vehicle by another state or jurisdiction to operate on the highways of this State if it has a gross weight, including load or contents, which is in excess of the gross weight limit permitted on the registration certificate issued for it by that other state or jurisdiction.
The owner, lessee or bailee of any vehicle or combination of vehicles that is found or operated on any public road, street or highway or on any public or quasi-public property in this State with a gross weight in excess of the weight limitation permitted by the certificate of registration issued for it by that other state or jurisdiction shall be assessed a penalty of $500 plus an amount equal to $100 for each 1,000 pounds or fractional portion of 1,000 pounds of weight in excess of the weight limitation permitted by that certificate of registration.
For the purposes of enforcement, a vehicle or combination of vehicles for which there is no valid certificate of registration shall be deemed to have been registered for zero pounds.
All fines, penalties and forfeitures imposed and collected in the enforcement of this section shall be forwarded by the person to whom they are paid to the State Treasurer, who shall annually deposit those moneys in the "Highway Safety Fund" established pursuant to section 5 of P.L.2003, c.131 (C.39:3-20.4).
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.