2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:3-19.6 - Fee Imposed On Limousine Services.
39:3-19.6 Fee imposed on limousine services.
43. a. On or before October 1, 2003 and on or before each October 1 thereafter, or in the case of persons commencing transporting passengers after that date at least 10 business days before the commencement of transporting, a fee shall be due and payable pursuant to this section for the operating period from October 1 through September 30 for each limousine, as that term is defined pursuant to R.S.48:16-13, and any other vehicle for hire that is used to transport passengers, from or to a location in New Jersey if such vehicle is not registered in New Jersey. If the only use of the limousine or other vehicle for hire during the operating period is the transporting of passengers to or from an airport located in this State, the fee shall be $100; in all other cases, the fee shall be $250.
b.Upon payment of the fee pursuant to subsection a. of this section, the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission shall issue a "for hire" permit, which permit shall be displayed in the vehicle at all times while the vehicle is within the State, in a manner prescribed by the Chief Administrator.
c.Failure to display the "for hire" permit is a motor vehicle violation, punishable by a fine of up to $350 in addition to any other penalty otherwise authorized for motor vehicle violations. Failure to pay the fee due under this section is a separate motor vehicle violation and shall be punishable by a fine of not less than $350, in addition to any other penalty authorized for motor vehicle violations. A vehicle failing to display a "for hire" permit may be impounded by a law enforcement agency, its agent, or any other appropriate authority, which may charge the owner or operator fees for the costs of towing and impoundment.
d.The Chief Administrator is authorized to promulgate rules and regulations necessary to effectuate the purposes of this section, including, but not limited to, regulations concerning the assessment of motor vehicle violation points for violation of the provisions of this section and fee collection and remittance methods and procedures, in accordance with the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), and prescribe forms to administer the provisions of this section. Notwithstanding the provisions of P.L.1968, c.410 to the contrary, the Chief Administrator may adopt immediately upon filing with the Office of Administrative Law such regulations as the Chief Administrator deems necessary to implement the provisions of this section, which regulations shall be effective for a period not to exceed 180 days from the date of the filing. The regulations may thereafter be amended, adopted or readopted by the Chief Administrator as the Chief Administrator deems necessary in accordance with the requirements of P.L.1968, c.410.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.