2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:3-10.30 - Fees; Duration Of Commercial Driver License.
39:3-10.30 Fees; duration of commercial driver license.
22. Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S.39:3-14 or any other sections of law which permit or require the issuance of a driver's license without charge, the required fee for a commercial driver license examination or learner's permit shall be $35. A permit issued before April 1, 1992 shall be valid for a period of two years from the date of issuance, unless another time period is established for such permits in federal regulations promulgated by the Secretary of the United States Department of Transportation. The permit holder shall have unlimited testing opportunities consistent with the scheduling obligations of the Division of Motor Vehicles and the need to provide testing opportunities to all persons affected by this act. For an examination or learner's permit issued on or after April 1, 1992, the director may limit the permit's validity to a specific length of time or number of testing opportunities.
After the issuance of a commercial driver license, the examination or learner's permit fee for an additional endorsement or license class shall be $10 per endorsement or class.
In addition to fees for a basic driver license and any non-commercial endorsement and renewals thereof, the required fee for a 48-month licensing period shall be $18 for each commercial driver license and renewal thereof and $2 for each endorsement and renewal thereof. In addition, the director shall charge a fee of $6 for a digitized picture of the licensee.
The commercial driver license shall expire on the last day of the 48th calendar month following the calendar month in which the license was issued. However, the director may, at his discretion, issue licenses and endorsements which shall expire on a date fixed by him. The fee for such licenses or endorsements shall be fixed in amounts proportionately less or greater than the fee otherwise established.
Nothing in this section shall be construed to alter or change any expiration date on any New Jersey commercial driver license issued prior to the operative date of P.L.2001, c.391 (C.39:3-10f4 et al.) and, unless a licensee's driving privileges are otherwise suspended or revoked, except as provided in R.S.39:3-10, the license shall remain valid until its expiration date.
L.1990,c.103,s.22; amended 1999, c.28, s.5; 2001, c.391, s.6.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.