2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 39 - Motor Vehicles And Traffic Regulation
Section 39:10-19.3 - Provisional Permit For Certain Off-site Motor Vehicles Sales; Conditions.
39:10-19.3 Provisional permit for certain off-site motor vehicles sales; conditions.
3. a. The Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission may issue a provisional permit, subject to a fee, for an off-site sale to a licensed recreational vehicle or used motor vehicle dealer, provided:
(1)No more than one permit for a particular location is issued during any calendar quarter;
(2)A completed application and fee, in an amount determined by the chief administrator, is received by the commission at least 15 days prior to the first day of the sale;
(3)The applicant is a recreational vehicle or used motor vehicle dealer, licensed under the provisions of R.S.39:10-19, in good standing;
(4)The sale is not conducted within 1,000 feet of the established place of business of any motor vehicle dealer licensed under the provisions of R.S.39:10-19;
(5)The display and sale of vehicles is conducted for no more than five consecutive days; and
(6)The sale is not open to the general public, but limited to members of the sponsoring organization or in the case of the off-site sales of recreational vehicles, only to ticketed individuals.
b.Following the issuance of a provisional permit for an off-site sale, and in the event that the chief administrator determines that neither the dealer, the sponsoring organization, nor the off-site sale location has an unsatisfactory history of violations of Title 39, the chief administrator shall issue a final permit for an off-site sale to the applicant, provided the dealer applicant delivers to the commission, no later than five days prior to the sale, a surety bond in the amount of $500,000 in the case of a permit for an off-site sale to a licensed used motor vehicle dealer; or $10,000 in the case of a permit for an off-site sale to a licensed recreational vehicle dealer issued by a company authorized to transact surety business in this State and payable to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. If a surety bond is cancelled or terminated for any reason prior to the end date of the sale, the company that issued the surety bond shall immediately notify the chief administrator of the cancellation or termination. The dealer applicant shall immediately obtain and file with the chief administrator a replacement surety bond prior to the end date of the sale that shall cover the uninsured term of the sale. In lieu of a surety bond, a dealer applicant may submit a notarized copy of a certificate of self-insurance issued pursuant to section 30 of P.L.1952, c.173 (C.39:6-52).
L.2005, c.351, s.3; amended 2008, c.73.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.