2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 2c - The New Jersey Code Of Criminal Justice
Section 2C:58-19 - Report Of Loss, Theft Of Firearm Within 36 Hours; Violations, Penalties.

NJ Rev Stat § 2C:58-19 (2016) What's This?

2C:58-19 Report of loss, theft of firearm within 36 hours; violations, penalties.

1.The legal owner of a firearm, upon discovering that the firearm is lost or stolen, shall report the loss or theft within 36 hours to the chief law enforcement officer of the municipality in which the loss or theft occurred or, if the municipality does not have a local police force, to the Superintendent of State Police.

A person who violates the provisions of this section shall be liable to a civil penalty of not less than $500 for a first offense, and not less than $1,000 for any second or subsequent offense. The civil penalty shall be collected pursuant to the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999," P.L.1999, c.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.).

L.2007, c.299, s.1.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.