2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 2a - Administration Of Civil And Criminal Justice
Section 2A:33-9 - Time For Owner Of Distrained Property To Take Action; Inventory And Appraisal; Aid Of Officers
2A:33-9. Time for owner of distrained property to take action; inventory and appraisal; aid of officers
If the tenant or owner of property distrained for rent shall not, within 10 days next after the distress taken and after notice thereof, and of the cause of the taking, has been left at the main dwelling house or other most conspicuous place on the premises charged with the rent distrained for, commence an action or otherwise lawfully proceed to recover possession of said property or set aside or end the distraint, the person distraining may, after the distress, notice and expiration of 10 days, on 2 days' notice to the tenant, cause the goods and chattels to be inventoried and appraised by 3 sworn appraisers.
The sheriff of the county, or a constable of the place wherein the distress shall be taken, shall aid and assist therein and shall summon 3 appraisers for such service and shall swear them well and truly to appraise the same, at the true and intrinsic value thereof, according to their best understanding.
L.1951 (1st SS), c.344.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.