2016 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 2a - Administration Of Civil And Criminal Justice
Section 2A:170-51.4 - Sale, Distribution Of Tobacco, Electronic Smoking Device To Persons Under Age 19; Prohibited; Civil Penalties.
2A:170-51.4 Sale, distribution of tobacco, electronic smoking device to persons under age 19; prohibited; civil penalties.
1. a. No person, either directly or indirectly by an agent or employee, or by a vending machine owned by the person or located in the person's establishment, shall sell, offer for sale, distribute for commercial purpose at no cost or minimal cost or with coupons or rebate offers, give or furnish, to a person under 19 years of age:
(1)any cigarettes made of tobacco or of any other matter or substance which can be smoked, or any cigarette paper or tobacco in any form, including smokeless tobacco; or
(2)any electronic smoking device that can be used to deliver nicotine or other substances to the person inhaling from the device, including, but not limited to, an electronic cigarette, cigar, cigarillo, or pipe, or any cartridge or other component of the device or related product.
b.The establishment of all of the following shall constitute a defense to any prosecution brought pursuant to subsection a. of this section:
(1)that the purchaser of the tobacco product or electronic smoking device or the recipient of the promotional sample falsely represented, by producing either a driver's license or non-driver identification card issued by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, a similar card issued pursuant to the laws of another state or the federal government of Canada, or a photographic identification card issued by a county clerk, that the purchaser or recipient was of legal age to make the purchase or receive the sample;
(2)that the appearance of the purchaser of the tobacco product or electronic smoking device or the recipient of the promotional sample was such that an ordinary prudent person would believe the purchaser or recipient to be of legal age to make the purchase or receive the sample; and
(3)that the sale or distribution of the tobacco product or electronic smoking device was made in good faith, relying upon the production of the identification set forth in paragraph (1) of this subsection, the appearance of the purchaser or recipient, and in the reasonable belief that the purchaser or recipient was of legal age to make the purchase or receive the sample.
c.A person who violates the provisions of subsection a. of this section, including an employee of a retail dealer licensee under P.L.1948, c.65 (C.54:40A-1 et seq.) who actually sells or otherwise provides a tobacco product to a person under 19 years of age, shall be liable to a civil penalty of not less than $250 for the first violation, not less than $500 for the second violation, and $1,000 for the third and each subsequent violation. The civil penalty shall be collected pursuant to the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999," P.L.1999, c.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.), in a summary proceeding before the municipal court having jurisdiction. An official authorized by statute or ordinance to enforce the State or local health codes or a law enforcement officer having enforcement authority in that municipality may issue a summons for a violation of the provisions of subsection a. of this section, and may serve and execute all process with respect to the enforcement of this section consistent with the Rules of Court. A penalty recovered under the provisions of this subsection shall be recovered by and in the name of the State by the local health agency. The penalty shall be paid into the treasury of the municipality in which the violation occurred for the general uses of the municipality.
d.In addition to the provisions of subsection c. of this section, upon the recommendation of the municipality, following a hearing by the municipality, the Division of Taxation in the Department of the Treasury may suspend or, after a second or subsequent violation of the provisions of subsection a. of this section, revoke the license issued under section 202 of P.L.1948, c. 65 (C.54:40A-4) of a retail dealer. The licensee shall be subject to administrative charges, based on a schedule issued by the Director of the Division of Taxation, which may provide for a monetary penalty in lieu of a suspension.
e.A penalty imposed pursuant to this section shall be in addition to any penalty that may be imposed pursuant to section 3 of P.L.1999, c. 90 (C.2C:33-13.1).
L.2000, c.87, s.1; amended 2003, c.175, s.1; 2005, c.384, s.1; 2009, c.182, s.3.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.