2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 34 - LABOR AND WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
Section 34:7-26 - Penalties; recovery.


NJ Rev Stat § 34:7-26 (2013) What's This?

34:7-26 Penalties; recovery.

34:7-26. Any owner, lessee, seller or operator of any steam or hot water boiler or similar equipment specified in R.S.34:7-14, pressure vessel or refrigeration system who shall sell, use, cause or allow to be used such steam or hot water boiler or similar equipment specified in R.S.34:7-14, pressure vessel or refrigeration system in violation of any provision of this article shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $500.00 nor more than $10,000.00 for each first offense and not less than $500.00 nor more than $25,000.00 for each subsequent offense, to be collected by a civil action or, in the commissioner's discretion, to be imposed by the commissioner as a compromise. All civil actions shall be brought by the Department of Labor as plaintiff, and may be brought in the Special Civil Part, Law Division of the Superior Court of the county, or municipal court of the municipality, wherein such violation shall occur. Any sum collected as a penalty pursuant to this section shall be applied toward enforcement and administration costs of the Division of Workplace Standards in the Department of Labor.

Amended 1946, c.92, s.6; 1953, c.33, s.25; 1960, c.133, s.5; 1987, c.366, s.2; 1991, c.205, s.13; 2003, c.117, s.8.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.