2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 34 - LABOR AND WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
Section 34:7-2.1 - Declaration of becoming a citizen
34:7-2.1. Declaration of becoming a citizen
Every applicant qualifying for a license who is not a citizen of the United States but who officially declared his intention of becoming a citizen shall be issued a license and shall be entitled to annual renewals thereof during the 5-year period immediately following his declaration of said intention and thereafter he shall be entitled to renewals only upon proof that he has become a citizen of the United States.
L.1969, c. 81, s. 2, eff. June 11, 1969.
34:7-3 Fees; revocation or suspension of license.
34:7-3. Each application for examination and for any license issued by the bureau shall be accompanied by fees as set forth in this section. The fees, established hereunder pursuant to the amendatory provisions of P.L.2003, c.117 shall be in effect for State fiscal years 2003-04 and 2004-05. Thereafter, such fees may be adjusted by the Commissioner of Labor in accordance with fee schedules adopted by regulation. Such fees shall be made payable to the Commissioner of Labor. There shall be no other charge for the initial examination or for one re-examination taken within six months of the original examination. Failure to appear for examination or to obtain a passing grade shall not entitle the applicant to a refund of any fee.
Raise of grade or additional
Additional examinations, in excess of
2, on any application$20
Annual license renewal if requested no
later than expiration date$20
License renewal for 3 years if requested
no later than expiration date$40
Application for renewal, if made not more
than 3 years after expiration and if all
penalties lawfully imposed upon the
applicant by the Mechanical Inspection
Bureau have been paid
Upon failure to so renew a license for a period of 3 years and 1 day after expiration date all records pertaining to such license may be destroyed pursuant to the "Destruction of Public Records Law (1953)," P.L.1953, c.410 (C.47:3-15 et seq.) and any application for renewal of the license will be treated as an original application for examination. All fees collected under this article shall be applied toward enforcement and administration costs of the Division of Workplace Standards in the Department of Labor.
Any license may be revoked or suspended by the commissioner upon receiving evidence of incompetence, negligence, intoxication while on duty or other reason establishing that the licensee is unfit to hold a license, after notice is given to the licensee and a hearing afforded him before one or more members of the examining board. In case revocation or suspension is recommended by the member or members conducting the hearing, it shall not be acted upon by the commissioner until at least 15 days' notice of the recommendation shall be given to the licensee and an opportunity afforded him within that time period to ask for a rehearing before the commissioner. After rehearing, if requested, the commissioner may affirm, modify or dismiss such recommendation. Pending a hearing or rehearing as provided in this paragraph, the commissioner may authorize the suspension of a license in the interest of health and safety.
Amended 1946, c.249, s.5; 1960, c.132, s.3; 1966, c.193; 1982, c.54, s.1; 1991, c.205, s.7; 2003, c.117, s.1.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.