2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 34 - LABOR AND WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
Section 34:6-98.14 - Violations, penalties.
34:6-98.14 Violations, penalties.
14.Any person violating any of the provisions of this act shall be liable to a penalty of not more than $2,500 for the first offense, not more than $5,000 for the second offense and not more than $10,000 for the third and any subsequent offense, to be collected in a civil action by a summary proceeding under the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999," P.L.1999, c.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.). Any person violating any provision of this act which results in serious bodily injury, shall be liable for a penalty of not less than $100 nor more than $25,000 to be collected in a civil action by a summary proceeding under the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999," P.L.1999, c.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.). Any violation of the act by an officer, agent or employee shall also be a violation of the act by his employer if such employer had knowledge of and actual control over the cause of such violation. Where the violation is of a continuing nature each day during which it continues, after the date given by which the violation must be eliminated in the order by the commissioner, shall constitute an additional separate and distinct offense, except during the time an appeal from said order may be taken or is pending.
The commissioner is hereby authorized and empowered to compromise and settle any claim for a penalty under this section in such amount in the discretion of the commissioner as may appear appropriate and equitable under all of the circumstances.
L.1954, c.197, s.14; amended 1973, c.257, s.5; 2007, c.155, s.9.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.