2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 34 - LABOR AND WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
Section 34:6-47.7a - Penalty for violation
34:6-47.7a. Penalty for violation
6. Any person violating any of the provisions of P.L.1948, c.249 (C.34:6-47.1 et seq.) shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $500.00 nor more than $5,000.00 to be collected in a civil action by a summary proceeding under "the penalty enforcement law" (N.J.S.2A:58-1 et seq.). Any violation of P.L.1948, c.249 (C.34:6-47.1 et seq.) by an officer, agent or employee shall also be a violation of P.L.1948, c.249 (C.34:6-47.1 et seq.) by his employer if such employer had knowledge of and actual control over the cause of such violation. Where the violation is of a continuing nature each day during which it continues, shall constitute an additional, separate and distinct offense. Any sum collected as a fine or penalty pursuant to this section shall be applied toward enforcement and administration costs of the Division of Workplace Standards in the Department of Labor.
The commissioner is hereby authorized and empowered to compromise and settle any claim for a penalty under this section in such amount in the discretion of the commissioner as may appear appropriate and equitable under all of the circumstances.
L.1966,c.261,s.6.; amended 1987,c.124,s.3; 1991,c.205,s.23.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.