2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 34 - LABOR AND WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
Section 34:6-149 - Powers of apparel industry unit.
34:6-149 Powers of apparel industry unit.
6.The apparel industry unit shall have the following powers:
a.To investigate and conduct inspections at locations where an apparel industry manufacturer or contractor is operating to ensure compliance with this act;
b.To inspect books, records and premises of manufacturers and contractors, with respect to their production employees, to determine compliance with the State's labor laws, including but not limited to, laws concerning wages, overtime compensation, unemployment compensation and temporary disability insurance, workers' compensation coverage, child labor, and industrial homework laws, and, if the apparel industry unit determines that a manufacturer or contractor has violated a provision of any of those laws with respect to its production employees, to assess and collect, on behalf of the commissioner, any administrative penalty authorized by law. If the violation is of a provision of a labor law for which the assessment and collection of an administrative penalty is not otherwise authorized, the apparel industry unit is hereby authorized to assess and collect an administrative penalty of not less than $250 and not more than $500 for a first violation and not less than $500 and not more than $1,000 for each subsequent violation, specified in a schedule of penalties promulgated by rule or regulation of the commissioner in accordance with the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.). No administrative penalty shall be levied pursuant to this subsection unless the commissioner or his designee provides the violator with notification of the violation and of the amount of the penalty by certified mail and an opportunity to request a hearing within 15 days following the receipt of the notice. If a hearing is requested, the commissioner, or his designee, may issue a final order upon such hearing and a finding that a violation has occurred. If no hearing is requested, the notice shall become a final order upon the expiration of the 15-day period. Payment of the penalty is due when a final order is issued or when the notice becomes a final order. Any penalty imposed under this subsection may be recovered with costs in a summary proceeding pursuant to "the penalty enforcement law" (N.J.S.2A:58-1 et seq.). Any penalty imposed under this subsection shall be paid to the Division of Workplace Standards and applied to enforcement and administrative costs of the division; and
c.To serve as the designee of the commissioner for the purpose of taking any action authorized by this act necessary to implement its provisions.
L.1987,c.458,s.6; amended 1991, c.189, s.8; 1999, c.4, s.1.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.