2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 34 - LABOR AND WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
Section 34:6-146 - Registration of manufacturers, contractors
34:6-146. Registration of manufacturers, contractors
3. a. No manufacturer or contractor shall engage in the apparel industry in this State unless the manufacturer or contractor is registered as a manufacturer or contractor with the department, in writing, on a form provided by the commissioner. That form shall contain the following information: whether the manufacturer or contractor is a sole proprietorship, partnership, or corporation; the manufacturer's or contractor's name and principal business address in the State; the name and address of each person with a financial interest in the manufacturer's or contractor's business and the amount of that interest, except that if the manufacturer or contractor is a publicly-traded corporation, only the names and addresses of the corporation officers shall be required; the manufacturer's or contractor's tax identification number; and, if the registrant is a contractor, whether that contractor subcontracts the cutting or sewing of apparel or sections or components thereof. Divisions, subsidiary corporations, or related companies may, at the option of the manufacturer or contractor, be named and included under one omnibus registration.
b. The commissioner shall issue pursuant to the provisions of this act, a certificate of registration upon receipt of a manufacturer's or contractor's completed registration form and documentation that the manufacturer or contractor has paid any surety bond required pursuant to subsection h. of section 7 of P.L.1987, c.458 (C.34:6-150) and provides workers' compensation coverage for the manufacturer's or contractor's production employees working in this State. The initial fee for each registration shall be $300. Each subsequent annual registration fee shall be $300. The commissioner may prorate the initial annual registration fee if the certificate of registration is for a period of less than 12 months. Registrations shall be renewed on or before January 15th of each year, and all fees shall be payable to the Division of Workplace Standards. With respect to manufacturers or contractors operating prior to or on the effective date of this act, the initial registration shall be filed on or before the first day of the sixth month following the effective date of this act and shall be effective until the following January 15th. With respect to new manufacturers or contractors, the initial registration shall be filed upon the commencement of manufacturing or contracting in the apparel industry and shall be effective until the following January 15th. The commissioner may, by order, compel registration pursuant to this subsection.
L.1987,c.458,s.3; amended 1991,c.189,s.5.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.