2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 34 - LABOR AND WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
Section 34:11-62 - Set-off; dismissal where balance due defendant exceeds $1,000.00


NJ Rev Stat § 34:11-62 (2013) What's This?

34:11-62. Set-off; dismissal where balance due defendant exceeds $1,000.00
Set-off; dismissal where balance due defendant exceeds $1,000.00. If the defendant files a set-off against the plaintiff for more than $1,000.00 and at the trial it shall be proved that the balance exceeding $1,000.00 is due the defendant then suit shall be dismissed unless the defendant consents to accept judgment for $1,000.00 and costs in full settlement of this claim, but in no event shall a counterclaim for unliquidated damages be set up against plaintiff for wages in the wage collection section.

Amended by L. 1985, c. 135, s. 2, eff. April 12, 1985.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.