2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 34 - LABOR AND WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
Section 34:11-56.12 - Notification to certain employees.


NJ Rev Stat § 34:11-56.12 (2013) What's This?

34:11-56.12 Notification to certain employees.

1. a. Every employer in this State, with 50 or more employees, shall conspicuously post notification, in a place or places accessible to all workers in each of the employer's workplaces, in a form issued by regulation promulgated by the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development, detailing the right to be free of gender inequity or bias in pay, compensation, benefits or other terms or conditions of employment under the "Law Against Discrimination," P.L.1945, c.169 (C.10:5-1 et seq.), P.L.1952, c.9 (C.34:11-56.1 et seq.), Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Pub.L. 88-352 (42 U.S.C. s.2000e et seq.), and the Equal Pay Act of 1963, Pub.L. 88-38 (29 U.S.C. s.206(d)), which prohibit wage or compensation discrimination based on gender.

b.The employer shall provide each worker of the employer with a written copy of the notification: not later than 30 days after the form of the notification is issued by the commissioner; at the time of the worker's hiring, if the worker is hired after the issuance; annually, on or before December 31 of each year; and at any time, upon the first request of the worker. The employer shall make the written copy of the notification available to each worker:

(1)By email delivery;

(2)Via printed material, including, but not limited to, a pay check insert, brochure or similar informational packet provided to new hires, an attachment to an employee manual or policy book, or flyer distributed at an employee meeting; or

(3)Through an Internet or Intranet website, if the site is for the exclusive use of all workers, can be accessed by all workers, and the employer provides notice to the workers of its posting.

The notification provided by the employer pursuant to this subsection shall contain an acknowledgement that the worker has received the notification and has read and understands its terms. The acknowledgement shall be signed by the worker, in writing or by means of electronic verification, and returned to the employer within 30 days of its receipt.

c.The commissioner shall make the notification required by this section available in English, Spanish, and any other language that the commissioner determines is the first language of a significant number of workers in the State. This determination shall be, at the discretion of the commissioner, based on the numerical percentages of all workers in the State for whom English or Spanish is not a first language or in a manner consistent with any regulations promulgated by the commissioner for this purpose. The employer shall post and provide the notification in English, Spanish, and any other language for which the commissioner has made the notification available and which the employer reasonably believes is the first language of a significant number of the employer's workforce.

L.2012, c.57, s.1.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.