2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 26 - HEALTH AND VITAL STATISTICS
Section 26:8-64 - Search of files, records, fee.


NJ Rev Stat § 26:8-64 (2013) What's This?

26:8-64 Search of files, records, fee.

26:8-64. a. For any genealogical search of the files and records of births, deaths, marriages, civil unions or domestic partnerships when information required on the application for a certification or certified copy of a vital record, and the correct year only is supplied by the applicant, whether or not a certification or a certified copy is made, the State registrar shall be entitled to a minimum fee of $4, plus a fee of $1 for each additional year searched, which fee shall be paid by the applicant, except as provided by R.S.26:8-63. The fee for each additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time shall be $2.

b.For any non-genealogical search of the files and records of births, deaths, marriages, civil unions or domestic partnerships when the exact date of the event is supplied, along with all other information required on the application for a certification or certified copy of a vital record, whether or not a certification or certified copy is made, the State Registrar shall be entitled to a minimum fee of $4, which shall be paid by the applicant, except as provided by R.S.26:8-63. The fee for each additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time shall be $2.

c.Conduct without fee upon request for administrative use by any city, state, or federal agency, a search for any New Jersey State census entry.

Amended 1952, c.26, s.2; 1957, c.200, s.3; 1965, c.78, s.74; 1983, c.275, s.17; 2003, c.246, s.26; 2006, c.103, s.59.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.