2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 26 - HEALTH AND VITAL STATISTICS
Section 26:6-75 - Violations, penalties.
26:6-75 Violations, penalties.
8. a. Any person who violates the provisions of this act or an order of the commissioner shall be liable for the first offense to a penalty of not more than $1,000, and for the second and each succeeding offense for a penalty of not more than $5,000. The penalties shall be sued for and collected in a summary proceeding in accordance with the "Penalty Enforcement Law of 1999," P.L.1999, c.274 (C.2A:58-10 et seq.).
b.In addition to any civil penalties provided under this section, the commissioner may suspend or revoke a registration made pursuant to this act for a violation of any provision of this act.
c.Except as provided in section 7 of this act, before denying to grant or renew a registration, or suspending or revoking a registration, pursuant to this act, the commissioner shall provide notice of the denial, revocation, or suspension, together with a specification of charges to the applicant or registrant, personally or by certified mail to the address of record, and the notice shall set forth the particular reasons for the denial, suspension, or revocation. The denial, suspension, or revocation shall become effective 30 days after mailing, unless the applicant or registrant, within the 30-day period, meets the requirements of the department or files with the department a written answer to the charges and gives written notice to the department of its desire for a hearing, in which case the denial, suspension, or revocation may be held in abeyance until the hearing has been concluded and a final decision rendered by the commissioner.
The commissioner shall afford the applicant or registrant an opportunity for a prompt hearing on the question of the granting, suspension, or revocation of the registration. The procedure governing the hearing shall be in accordance with the rules and regulations of the department. Either party may be represented by counsel of its own choosing, and has the right to subpoena witnesses and to compel their attendance on forms furnished by the department. The commissioner shall render a written decision stating conclusions and reasons therefor.
L.2008, c.49, s.8.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.