2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 26 - HEALTH AND VITAL STATISTICS
Section 26:2Y-9 - Violations, penalties.


NJ Rev Stat § 26:2Y-9 (2013) What's This?

26:2Y-9 Violations, penalties.

9. a. A person, firm, partnership, corporation, limited liability company or association that operates or conducts an adult family care home or adult family care sponsor agency without first obtaining the license required by this act, or that operates an adult family care home or adult family care sponsor agency after a revocation or suspension of that license, shall be liable to a penalty of not more than $2,500 as provided for by regulation for each day of operation in violation hereof for the first offense and for any subsequent offense.

b.A person, firm, partnership, corporation, limited liability company or association that, except in cases of an emergency, maintains more clients in an adult family care home than it is licensed to maintain, shall be subject to penalty, in an amount equal to the daily charge collected from those clients plus $25 for each day multiplied by the number of clients maintained over the authorized limit.

c.In addition to the authority granted to the department by this act or any other law, the department, after serving an applicant or licensee with specific charges in writing, may: assess penalties and collect the same within the limitations imposed by this act; deny a license; grant probationary or provisional status to a licensee; relocate clients; or revoke or suspend any and all licenses granted under authority of this act to a person, firm, partnership, corporation, limited liability company or association violating or failing to comply with the provisions of this act, or the rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.

d.A person, firm, partnership, corporation, limited liability company or association that violates any rule or regulation adopted in accordance with this act as the same pertains to the care of clients or physical plant standards shall be subject to a monetary penalty of not more than $2,500 as provided for by regulation for each day in violation of the rule or regulation.

e.Notice of the assessment of penalties, revocation, suspension, placement on probationary or provisional license status, relocation of clients or denial of a license, together with a specification of charges, shall be served on the applicant or licensee, personally or sent by certified mail to the address of record. The notice shall set forth the particular reasons for the administrative action being undertaken.

f.The commissioner or his designee shall arrange for prompt and fair hearings on all contested cases, render written decisions stating conclusions and reasons therefor upon each matter so heard, and may enter orders of denial, suspension, placement on probationary or provisional license status, relocation of clients or revocation, consistent with the circumstances in each case, and may assess penalties and collect the same within the limitations imposed by this act.

g.In the event of closure of an adult family care home, clients who are relocated by the department may be entitled to benefits pursuant to the "Relocation Assistance Act," P.L.1971, c.362 (C.20:4-1 et seq.) or the "Relocation Assistance Law of 1967," P.L.1967, c.79 (C.52:31B-1 et seq.), and any regulations adopted pursuant thereto.

L.2001,c.304,s.9.


Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.