2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 26 - HEALTH AND VITAL STATISTICS
Section 26:2J-4.9 - Coverage for birth and natal care; HMO
26:2J-4.9. Coverage for birth and natal care; HMO
8. a. Every enrollee agreement that provides maternity benefits and is delivered, issued, executed or renewed in this State pursuant to P.L.1973, c.337 (C.26:2J-1 et seq.) or approved for issuance or renewal in this State by the Commissioner of Insurance on or after the effective date of this act shall provide health care services for a minimum of 48 hours of in-patient care following a vaginal delivery and a minimum of 96 hours of in-patient care following a cesarean section for a mother and her newly born child in a health care facility licensed pursuant to P.L.1971, c.136 (C.26:2H-1 et seq.). The provisions of this section shall apply to enrollee agreements in which the health maintenance organization has reserved the right to change the schedule of charges.
b. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a. of this section, an enrollee agreement that provides health care services for post-delivery care to a mother and her newly born child in the home shall not be required to provide for a minimum of 48 hours and 96 hours, respectively, of in-patient care unless such in-patient care is determined to be medically necessary by the attending physician or is requested by the mother. For the purposes of this section, attending physician shall include the attending obstetrician, pediatrician or other physician attending the mother or newly born child.
c. Every health maintenance organization shall provide notice to enrollees regarding the coverage required by this section in accordance with this subsection and regulations promulgated by the Commissioner of Health pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.). The notice shall be in writing and prominently positioned in any literature or correspondence and shall be transmitted at the earliest of: (1) the next mailing to the enrollee; (2) the yearly informational packet sent to the enrollee; or (3) January 1, 1996.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.