2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 26 - HEALTH AND VITAL STATISTICS
Section 26:2H-12.60 - Submission of bill to Medicare beneficiary by health care facility; reporting of nonpayment.
26:2H-12.60 Submission of bill to Medicare beneficiary by health care facility; reporting of nonpayment.
1. a. A health care facility licensed pursuant to P.L.1971, c.136 (C.26:2H-1 et seq.), which provides a health care service to a Medicare beneficiary, shall bill the beneficiary, within 90 days from the date the payment from Medicare or other third party payer is finalized for any amounts due and owing for the service that are not reimbursed by the Medicare program or other third party payer.
b.In the event the health care facility does not submit a bill to the beneficiary within 90 days from the date the payment from Medicare or other third party payer is finalized, the health care facility shall not be permitted to report any nonpayment of the bill by the beneficiary to a consumer reporting agency.
c.A health care facility that violates the provisions of this section shall be subject to such penalties as the Commissioner of Health and Senior Services may determine pursuant to sections 13 and 14 of P.L.1971, c.136 (C.26:2H-13 and 26:2H-14).
d.As used in this section:
"Consumer reporting agency" means any person which, for monetary fees, dues, or on a cooperative nonprofit basis, regularly engages, in whole or in part, in the practice of assembling or evaluating consumer credit information or other information on consumers for the purpose of furnishing consumer reports to third parties, and which uses any means or facility for the purpose of preparing or furnishing consumer reports.
L.2010, c.95, s.1.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.