2013 New Jersey Revised Statutes
Title 26 - HEALTH AND VITAL STATISTICS
Section 26:2D-82.1 - Restrictions on use of tanning facilities by minors.
26:2D-82.1 Restrictions on use of tanning facilities by minors.
1. a. A tanning facility operator shall not permit a person who is under 17 years of age to use a tanning facility, except as provided in paragraph (1) of subsection b. of this section.
b. (1) A tanning facility operator shall permit a person who is at least 14 years of age to use spray tanning in a tanning facility.
(2)A tanning facility operator shall not permit a person who is under 17 years of age to use a tanning bed. A tanning facility operator shall permit a person who is at least 17 years of age to use a tanning bed, provided that the person's parent or guardian is present at the tanning facility for the initial consultation.
(3)An emancipated minor shall be exempt from the provisions of this subsection upon legal proof documenting said emancipation.
c.(Deleted by amendment, P.L.2013, c.39).
d.The penalties for violating the provisions of this section shall be as provided in section 7 of P.L.1989, c.234 (C.26:2D-87).
L.2006, c.48, s.1; amended 2012, c.17, s.147; 2013, c.39, s.1.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.