2009 New Jersey Code
TITLE 34 - LABOR AND WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION
34:15
34:15-35.13 - Liability for hearing loss;  previous hearing loss; audiometric testing

34:15-35.13.  Liability for hearing loss;  previous hearing loss; audiometric testing
    a.  Where hearing loss measurement is practicable, an employer shall be liable for the hearing loss of an employee to which his employment has contributed.  If previous occupational hearing loss or hearing loss from non-occupational causes is established by competent evidence, including the results of a placement audiogram, the employer shall not be liable for the hearing loss so established whether or not compensation has previously been paid or awarded, and shall be liable only for the difference between the percentage of disability determined as of the date of disability, as herein defined and the percentage of disability established by the placement audiogram.

    b.  An employer may require an employee to undergo audiometric testing at the expense of the employer at the time of termination of employment. The employer shall be required to notify the employee, in writing, of this requirement and the penalty, as provided herein, for noncompliance with such requirement at or before the employee's termination date.  In the event of refusal or failure by the employee to undergo audiometric testing within 60 days after receipt of written notice of the scheduling of such test by the employer, the employee shall be penalized by losing any right to compensation as granted by this act, unless such failure is due to a legitimate reason as determined by the division.

    c.  Any employee who undergoes audiometric testing at the direction of an employer may request, within 2 weeks of such testing, a copy and brief explanation of the results which shall be provided to him within 2 weeks of said request.

    d.  For purposes of verifying the degree of hearing loss for awarding compensation, an employee may introduce audiometric test results obtained within 30 days after employer testing at his own expense from any individual approved for performing hearing tests pursuant to section 7.

     L.1979, c. 285, s. 4.
 

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Jersey may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.