2019 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title XXI - Motor Vehicles
Chapter 261 - Certificates of Title and Registration of Vehicles
Section 261:87-b - Special Number Plates for Veterans.

Universal Citation: NH Rev Stat § 261:87-b (2019)
    261:87-b Special Number Plates for Veterans. –
I. The director is hereby authorized to issue special number plates to be used on motor vehicles owned by veterans of the United States armed services, in lieu of other number plates. The design of these special plates shall be determined by the commissioner, and shall be distinct from the design or designs of those plates issued under RSA 261:86. Such plates shall be issued only to veterans as defined in RSA 21:50, I(a) upon application, proof of veteran status in a form authorized by RSA 21:50, I(b), and payment of the regular motor vehicle registration fee and the $4 per plate fees under RSA 261:75. The director shall also issue such plates to any person providing proof of honorable discharge from the armed services of any nation allied with the United States during World War II and proof of such person's service during World War II. Renewals of such special number plates shall be charged the fee assessed for standard motor vehicles as prescribed under RSA 261:141. The plates furnished pursuant to this section are non-transferable and shall expire upon the death of the veteran, except that the surviving spouse may use the plates for one year after the death of the veteran and shall be eligible to replace the plates during that year at no charge under RSA 261:75.
II. For purposes of this section, a motor vehicle is owned by a veteran if the veteran is the motor vehicle's owner under RSA 259:72, I, or if the legal ownership of the motor vehicle is held by a trust established by the veteran and the veteran has use of the motor vehicle or the motor vehicle is used for the transportation of the veteran. The director shall establish the documentation required for a motor vehicle held in trust to be eligible for plates under this section. The director shall not issue more than one set of plates under this section to any trust. A trustee of the trust or the administrator of the estate may be fined up to $500 for failing to return within 60 days of the death of the veteran any plates issued under this section for a motor vehicle held in trust.

Source. 2000, 284:1. 2002, 160:1. 2004, 209:1. 2006, 262:2, 3. 2007, 165:1. 2008, 355:2, eff. July 1, 2008.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.