2017 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title XXI - MOTOR VEHICLES
Chapter 265 - RULES OF THE ROAD
Section 265:54 - Overtaking and Passing School Bus.
265:54 Overtaking and Passing School Bus.     I. The driver of a vehicle upon a way upon meeting or overtaking from either direction any school bus, plainly marked with school bus signs or such other distinguishing identification as the director may require, which has stopped on the highway for the purpose of receiving or discharging school children shall stop his or her vehicle before reaching such school bus at least 25 feet away from such school bus. The driver shall not proceed until such school bus resumes motion, or until flashing red lights cease to operate.     I-a. Testimony under oath from the school bus driver or other witness that a vehicle failed to stop and remain stopped as required by paragraph I shall be sufficient evidence to prove that the owner of the vehicle was driving and has violated the provisions of paragraph I, unless such evidence is rebutted or contradicted.     I-b. Except as provided in paragraph IV, a person who violates the provisions of paragraph I shall be guilty of a violation and shall be fined $150 plus penalty assessment for a first offense, and shall be fined not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 for a subsequent offense. In addition, the director may suspend the person's license to drive or nonresident driving privilege for a period of 30 days for a second or subsequent offense.     II. Whenever road conditions and space permit and whenever the number of vehicles following a moving school bus is 5 or more, the driver of the school bus shall pull over and let the following vehicles pass. A driver passing the school bus must do so without driving any part of his vehicle to the left of or across any unbroken painted line marked on the highway.     III. The driver of a vehicle upon a divided highway with separate roadways need not stop when meeting or passing a school bus which is traveling in the opposite direction on the other half of the divided highway, or when upon a controlled access highway if a school bus is stopped in a loading zone which is part of or adjacent to such highway and pedestrians are not permitted to cross the roadway.     IV. Except as provided in paragraph III, no driver of a vehicle who is required to stop his or her vehicle in accordance with paragraph I shall overtake and pass a school bus on the right. A person who violates the provisions of this paragraph shall be guilty of a violation and shall be fined $500 plus penalty assessment. In addition, the director shall suspend the person's license to drive or nonresident driving privilege for a period of up to 30 days for a first offense. For a second or subsequent offense, the person must appear before the court and shall be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,200 plus penalty assessment. The director shall suspend the person's license to drive or nonresident driving privilege for a period of 30 days for a second offense, and for a period of not less than 30 days nor more than 120 days for a third or subsequent offense.
Source. 1949, 114:1. 1953, 56:1. RSA 263:43. 1961, 251:6. 1963, 330:1. 1975, 46:1. RSA 262-A:52. 1981, 146:1; 479:41. 1983, 355:1. 1986, 127:27. 2001, 132:2, eff. June 29, 2001. 2015, 202:6, 7, eff. Jan. 1, 2016.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.