2016 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title X - PUBLIC HEALTH
Chapter 126-K - YOUTH ACCESS TO AND USE OF TOBACCO PRODUCTS
Section 126-K:4 - Sale and Distribution of Tobacco Products, E-cigarettes, or Liquid Nicotine to Minors Prohibited.
I. No person shall sell, give, or furnish or cause or allow or procure to be sold, given, or furnished tobacco products, e-cigarettes, or liquid nicotine to a minor. The prohibition established by this paragraph shall not be deemed to prohibit minors employed by any manufacturer, wholesaler, sub-jobber, vending machine operator, sampler, or retailer from performing the necessary handling of tobacco products, e-cigarettes, or liquid nicotine during the duration of their employment.
II. Violations of this section shall be civil infractions punishable by administrative action of the commission against the licensee. The fines for violations of this section shall not exceed $250 for the first offense and $500 for the second offense. For the third offense, the commission shall issue a letter of warning detailing necessary corrective actions and an administrative fine ranging from $500 to $1500. In addition, the license to sell tobacco products of the manufacturer, wholesaler, sub-jobber, vending machine operator, or retailer where the offense occurred shall be suspended for a period of 10 consecutive days and not exceeding 30 consecutive days. For the fourth offense, the commission shall issue either an administrative fine and a suspension of a minimum of 10 consecutive days not to exceed 40 consecutive days, or a suspension. The administrative fine shall range from $750 to $3,000 while any suspension without a fine shall be 40 consecutive days. For any violation beyond the fourth, the commission shall revoke any license for the business or business entity at the location where the infraction occurred or any principal thereof for a period of one year from the date of revocation. The commission shall determine the level of the violation by reviewing the licensee's record and counting violations that have occurred within 3 years of the date of the violation being considered.
III. In addition to the civil penalty described in paragraph II, a person who violates this section shall be guilty of a violation for a first offense and a misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.
Source. 1997, 338:8. 2000, 303:1. 2001, 280:1. 2010, 113:5, eff. July 31, 2010.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.