2015 New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Title XXXVI - PAWNBROKERS AND MONEYLENDERS
Chapter 399-A - REGULATION OF SMALL LOANS, TITLE LOANS, AND PAYDAY LOANS
Section 399-A:8 - Cease and Desist Orders.
I. The banking department may issue a cease and desist order against any licensee or person who it has reasonable cause to believe has violated or is about to violate the provisions of this chapter or any rule or order under this chapter. Delivery of such order shall be by hand or registered mail at the principal office of the licensee or other person. The order shall be calculated to give reasonable notice of the rights of the person to request a hearing on the order and shall state the reasons for the entry of the order. A hearing shall be held not later than 10 days after the request for such hearing is received by the commissioner after which and within 20 days of the date of the hearing the commissioner shall issue a further order vacating the cease and desist order or making it permanent as the facts require. All hearings shall comply with RSA 541-A. If the person to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to appear at the hearing after being duly notified, such person shall be deemed in default, and the proceeding may be determined against him or her upon consideration of the cease and desist order, the allegations of which may be deemed to be true. If the person to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to request a hearing within 30 calendar days of receipt of such order, then such person shall likewise be deemed in default, and the order shall, on the thirty-first day, become permanent, and shall remain in full force and effect until and unless later modified or vacated by the commissioner, for good cause shown.
II. If any person refuses to obey the commissioner's order, an action may be brought by the attorney general on the commissioner's behalf in any superior court in this state to enjoin such person from engaging in or continuing such violation or from doing any act or acts in furtherance of such violation. In any such action, an order or judgment may be entered awarding a temporary or permanent injunction, and awarding the commissioner or the attorney general or both costs in bringing such action. The court shall have the power to enforce such injunction, in addition to all of the court's customary powers, by imposing a fine not exceeding $10,000 or by imprisonment, or both.
399-A:8 License Surrender. --
I. A licensee who ceases to engage in the business of a lender at any time for any cause shall surrender such license and file an annual report pursuant to RSA 399-A:10 within 15 calendar days of such cessation.
II. Surrender of a license shall not take effect until the commissioner deems the surrender process complete.
III. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section and rules adopted under this section shall be cause for denial of future license applications and the imposition of penalties under RSA 399-A:23.
Source. 2015, 73:1, eff. Jan. 1, 2016.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. New Hampshire may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.